Two first time legislators in Meghalaya took oath as new ministers at Raj Bhavan in Shillong.

Two first time legislators in Meghalaya took oath as new ministers of the Meghalaya Democratic Alliance (MDA) government at the Raj Bhavan in Shillong on Thursday evening.

The two MLAs – Renikton Lyngdoh Tongkhar and Dasakhiatbha Lamare were administered the oath of office and secrecy by Governor Satya Pal Malik in a short swearing in ceremony that lasted for about seven minutes.

Meghalaya chief minister Conrad K Sangma, Assembly speaker Metbah Lyngdoh, deputy chief minister Prestone Tynsong and other ministers and officers were present at the ceremony.

While Tongkhar of the Hill State People’s Democratic Party (HSPDP) represents Mawkyrwat constituency, Lamare of the NPP represents Mawhati constituency.

Lamare replaced former fisheries minister and three-time legislator from Raliang constituency of the NPP, Comingone Ymbon and Tongkhar replaced former PHE minister and first time HSPDP MLA from Sohïong constituency, Samlin Malngiang.

The replacement of Malngiang and Ymbon nearly a month after the MDA government completed two and half years on September 6.

Questions however are being asked over the logic of dropping Ymbon, one of the senior MLAs of the NPP from Jaiñtia Hills, who has been replaced by the first time legislator, from Ri-Bhoi district.

Lamare is now the youngest minister in the 12-member Cabinet led by chief minister Conrad K Sangma.

When the MDA government was formed on March 6, 2018, UDP MLA from Khliehriat, Kyrmen Shylla took oath as the youngest minister at the age of 29.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: