Meghalaya Cricket Team. Image credit: Twitter
Meghalaya Cricket Team. Image credit: Twitter

Meghalaya defeated Mumbai in the penultimate Group D league match of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Twenty20 Trophy at the Wankhede Stadium on Friday.

Meghalaya’s three guest players- Ravi Teja, Puneet Bisht and Sanjay Yadav- propelled the team to a six-wicket win with four balls to spare.

Batting first Mumbai set the visitors a modest target of 158, which Meghalaya overcame in the 20th overriding on fiery half-centuries by Ravi Teja (60 not out) and Sanjay Yadav (55).

Puneet Bisht also scored a brisk 23 in 12 balls, which set the launchpad for the others.

Then hosts took the field without Shivam Dube and Atif Attarwala and brought in Sujit Nayak and Dhrumil Matkar.

“It’s a dream win for our team,” said Chiang D-Shira, the joint secretary of the Meghalaya Cricket Association and manager of the team.

Congratulating the team, Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad Sangma tweeted, “Meghalaya created a historic win against Mumbai in BCCI @paytm #MustaqAliT20 tournament today. Congratulations to our Team and its coaches! We are proud of our team!”

“A big upset was caused today in @paytm #MushtaqAliT20 when Meghalaya beat Mumbai at their home ground the Wankhede Stadium. This is Mumbai’s first loss in the tournament this season,” tweeted BCCI.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: