A neck to neck contest is underway between the Congress and the National People’s Party (NPP) as counting of votes is underway for the GHADC elections in Meghalaya.

Also read: GHADC elections results live: Neck-to-neck contest between Congress and NPP in Meghalaya

As per latest update from the Garo Hills region in Meghalaya, the Congress is leading in as many as 10 constituencies, followed by NPP in 9 seats.

On the other hand, the BJP and the GNC are leading in 2 seats each.

The NCP is leading in 1 seat.

Meanwhile, incumbent Chief Executive Member (CEM) of GHADC (Garo Hills Autonomous District Council) and NPP candidate from Rochonpara constituency – Dipul Marak has lost the elections.

Dipul Marak was defeated by independent candidate Arbinestone Marak.

The Congress is leading in the constituencies of Williamnagar, Rongrong, Damas, Kharkuta and Samadagre.

NPP is leading in Tura, Darugre and Bolsong.

After the conclusion of first round of counting, Congress candidate from Williamnagar constituency – Alphonsush R Marak is leading after securing as many as 1694 votes.

In Samandagre seat, a close fight is underway between Congress candidate – Lathison M Sangma and NPP candidate Brilliant R Sangma.

Congress candidate – Lathison M Sangma is leading by a margin of only 138 votes after round two of counting ended.

A close fight is underway in the Darugre constituency where the NPP candidate – Henen R Sangma is leading his closest Congress candidate – Rapiush Ch Marak by a margin of only 54 votes.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: contact@nenow.in