Meghalaya by-polls: All eight candidates in fray with no withdrawals

Representative image

2 min read

With no withdrawals on Thursday, all the eight candidates are now in the fray for the two Assembly seats of Ranikor and South Tura for the ensuing by-elections in Meghalaya.

Both the constituencies will now witness four-cornered contests in the forthcoming by-polls.

The main contesting political parties are National People’s Party (NPP), Congress, People’s Democratic Front (PDF) and United Democratic Party (UDP) alongside two independents.

In Ranikor, NPP candidate M M Danggo, who resigned from the Congress, is largely banking on the issue of newly created civil sub-division to garner votes.

Other contenders are UDP’s Pius Marwein, PDF’s PN Syiem and Jackiush Sangma of the Congress.

State Chief Minister Conrad Sangma is going to Ranikor on Friday to campaign for party candidate Danggo.

In South Tura, NPP candidate and State Chief Minister Conrad is pitted against the Congress’ Charlotte W Momin and Independents John Leslee K Sangma and Chris Kabul A Sangma.

While the NPP and the Congress will contest with their respective party symbols, the book and the hand, John Leslee K Sangma was allotted the ‘table’ as his symbol and Chris Kabul A Sangma has been given the ‘almirah’ symbol.

All the candidates and party workers are geared up to launch intense campaigning from Friday to woo the voters in both the constituencies.

Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: