Governor Dr Najma Heptulla administered the oath of office and secrecy to Awangbow.

Naga People’s Front (NPF) MLA Awangbow Newmai of Tamei assembly constituency was sworn in as a minister in the BJP-led coalition government in Manipur on Friday.

Governor Dr Najma Heptulla administered the oath of office and secrecy to Awangbow at the banquet hall of Raj Bhavan in Imphal around 4 pm.

Chief minister N Biren Singh and his cabinet colleagues were present at the oath taking ceremony.

Unlike the past swearing in ceremonies, public, political party leaders were absent during the day’s event in view of the present situation arising out of the nationwide lockdown.

The newly sworn in minister Awangbou whose portfolio is yet to be announced, was elected from Tamei constituency for the second term in the 11th Manipur legislative assembly elections in 2017 on NPF ticket.

He was elected from the same constituency in 2007 assembly elections as an Independent MLA.
52-year-old Awangbow who is a resident of Takou village in Tamei sib-division has master degree in Anthropology from North Eastern Hill University.

He was the president of Naga Students Union, Shillong unit in 1990.

Awangbow was also the president of Liangmai Students Union Manipur Nagaland from 1995 to 2000.

He was also the headmaster of Hamai English High School Tame from 1993 to 2006.

With his induction as minister, NPF which have four legislators now have two ministers in the coalition government. Other minister was L Dikho of Mao assembly constituency.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: