Imphal Airport.

In the wake of the spurt in COVID-19 cases in some parts of the country, the Manipur government has made RT-PCR test mandatory for air passengers arriving at the state from eight States at Imphal Airport.

Health department officials said these eight States are Maharashtra, Kerala, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Gujarat, Punjab, Rajasthan and Haryana.

“Passengers will be allowed to leave the airport after the collection of samples and are instructed for home/self-isolation till the test reports are communicated by officials,” stated K Rajo Singh, Director of the State Health Services, in a notification on Thursday.

Manipur had discontinued the COVID-19 tests of incoming air passengers on December 18 last year after declining in cases.

Meanwhile, the cumulative number of positive cases in the State has reached 29,326, while the total recoveries have touched 28,929.

The number of active cases currently stands at 24, officials stated.

The recovery rate of the State is 98.64 per cent. As of Friday, 6, 12,522 persons have been screened at various entry points into Manipur, while 5, 67,126 individuals have been tested for COVID-19.


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: