CM N Biren Singh.

The ruling BJP is planning to contest all the 60 seats in Manipur, although it is also in discussion with some parties for possible tie-ups.

Manipur will go to Assembly elections on February 27 and March 3.

“We are in discussion for a pre-poll alliance,” ET quoted Assam minister and Manipur state election co-in charge, Ashok Singhal, as saying.

Meghalaya chief minister Conrad K Sangma-led National People’s Party (NPP), an ally of the BJP in the state government, has hinted at contesting the assembly polls on its own.

NPP chief Sangma said that the party has planned to field about 40 candidates in Manipur assembly polls and already finalised 30- plus candidates.

The NPP contested nine seats in 2017 and won four seats.

In the 2017 assembly polls, Congress emerged as the single largest party with 28 MLAs in the 60-member assembly.

Later, eight Congress MLAs left the party. BJP won 21 seats and it contested all the 60 seats. BJP got support from NPP and Naga People’s Front (NPF), which won four seats each.


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: