Manipur chief minister N Biren Singh accompanied by public health engineering minister Losii Dikho and officials inaugurated five water supply projects on Wednesday.

One office building of Weight and Measures Department and Rapid Antigen Detection Testing Centre at Jiribam were also inaugurated through video conferencing from the chief minister’s Secretariat in Imphal.

Speaking on the occasion, N Biren Singh informed that with a strong commitment, the government could complete various developmental projects in the State.

With the co-operation and support of the people, such projects have been inaugurated within a stipulated time period.

He said the New Development Bank has sanctioned Rs 3,000 crore to provide potable water to every household of the State.

All the necessary processes including tenders, issue of work order etc have been completed and the State government has requested Prime Minister Narendra Modi to grace the foundation stone laying ceremony which will be held shortly, he added.

He also appealed to the CSOs, people and others concerned not to create any hindrances in the developmental activities being taken up in the State.

On the occasion, PHE Minister Dikho said the government is committed to provide potable water to all the household of the State by the year 2022.

He mentioned that with the cooperation of the people, the construction of Water supply scheme for Churachandpur was completed eight months before the stipulated time period.

He also appreciated the implementing agency viz SPML Infra Ltd, Kolkatta for their dedication to complete the work before the stipulated time period

The water supply projects are Integrated Water Supply Project for Imphal Planning Area Ph-I (15.89 MLD) at Koirengei ,the Integrated Water Supply Project for Imphal Planning Area Ph-I (0.80 ML) in charge Pumping Station at Sangakpham ,the Integrated Water Supply Project for Imphal Planning Area Ph-I (Water Treatment Plant (9.08 MLD) at Canchipur,the Water Supply Scheme at Heingang Awang Leikai ,the Water Supply distribution network for Churachandpur.

Ministers Karam Shyam(Revenue),V Hangkhanlian(Agriculture), Deputy Chairman of State Planning Board S Rajen Singh, MLA Okram Henry(Wangkhei), Chief Secretary Dr J Suresh Babu, Principal Secretary (Health) V Vumlunmang, Commissioner (PHE) Nidhi Kesarwani, Secretary to Chief Minister Ningthoujam Geoffrey, Chief Engineer (PHE) H Sunil and others attended the function.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: