Assam minister and BJP leader Himanta Biswa Sarma arrived in Manipur on Tuesday to campaign for the candidates of the party, gearing up for the upcoming bypolls in the state.

Four Assembly constituencies of Manipur will go for bypolls on November 7, 2020.

Assam finance, education and health minister Sarma, who is also the convenor of North East Democratic Alliance (NEDA) led by BJP, will campaign for the BJP candidates with Manipur chief minister N Biren Singh and other party leaders.

Chief minister N Biren welcomed the Assam minister on his arrival in the state.

Welcoming Sarma, the Manipur chief minister tweeted: “Welcome to Imphal Shri. @himantabiswa Ji, Cabinet Minister, Assam and Senior BJP leader. Himanta Da and I will be campaigning for the upcoming by-election in four assembly constituencies of Manipur today.”

Sharing the tweet by N Biren, minister Sarma retweeted:  “Hon’ble Chief Minister, You are doing excellent work for the people of Manipur. Your simplicity and kind gesture always inspire me.”

Meanwhile, Manipur‘s BJP candidate Ginsuanhau has been elected from Singhat (ST) Assembly Constituency uncontested.

On October 22, Ginsuanhau, an ex-MLA from Singhat, left as the only candidate for the seat after Chinlunthang withdrew the nomination papers as an independent candidate for Singhat constituency under Churachandpur district.

In August 2020, Ginsuanhau along with 5 other Congress legislators resigned from the membership of Manipur Legislative Assembly.

The other Congress MLAs were O Lukhoi (Wangoi), Md Abdul Nasir (Lilong), O Henry (Wangkhei), P Brojen (Wangjing-Tentha) and Ngamthang Haokip (Sauti-ST).

As a result, bypolls to the Assembly constituencies were necessitated.

Now bypolls to Wangoi, Lilong, Wangjing-Tentha and Saitu in the state are scheduled for November 7.

A total of 11 candidates are contesting the Manipur bypolls.

The counting of votes will be held on November 10.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: