Twelve journalists including four from the hill districts of Manipur were awarded the State Level Media Fellowship for reporting on climate change.

The fellowship for the year 2020-21 was awarded to the journalists during a workshop at the directorate of environment in Imphal on Saturday.

The journalists, who received the media fellowship, are Nando  Waikhom (The Sangai Express), Pouguilung Kamei (All India Radio), Daniel Chabungbam (Poknapham), Longjam Arishrona (The People’s Chronicle), Babie Shirin (Imphal Free Press), Phurailatpam Keny (Imphal Free Press), Thomas Felix (Hills Hornbill Express) and R Lester Makang (The People’s Chronicle).

The other journalists are Jimmy Pamei (Tamenglong Times), Huidrom Romen (Tom TV), Michaljit Yumnam (ISTV) and Ksh Premchand (Impact TV), Johnson Pau Zou of Zogam Today and a reporter at Churachandpur daily.

The recipients of the fellowship will get an amount of Rs 50,000 in installments to support their travel and research.

Environment director Dr Y Nabachandra; Irengbam Arun, advisor of state media resource centre for climate change; Pradip Phanjoubam, editor at FPSJ Review of Arts and politics, a leading English daily; senior journalist Salam Rajesh and coordinator Sobhapati Samom of state media resource centre for climate change were present at the event besides others.

The selected journalists, who could not attend the workshop in person, joined the event online.

Sobhapati Samom

Sobhapati Samom is Northeast Now Correspondent in Imphal. He can be reached at: