Manipur Legislative Assembly
Manipur Legislative Assembly

The winter session of the 11th Manipur Legislative Assembly began with obituary reference to four former members of the Manipur assembly on Wednesday . This includes former Chief Minister and first Lok Sabha member Rishang Keishing. Apart from him other members were former Minister Th Krishna of Thoubal constituency in Thoubal district, former MLA’s Kh Jugeshwor of Lamshang constituency and Salam Damudor of Sagolband constituency. These are both in Imphal West district.

The house of 60 members also observed a two minutes’ silence in honour of the departed members of the state assembly.

Addressing the house, Chief Minister N Biren Singh highlighted the role played by Rishang Keishing in developing the state in diverse fields.  Rishang Keishing also took initiatives to bring communal harmony in the region. This was after he was elected from the Phungyar assembly constituency in the state in the first Manipur assembly in 1972.

Rishang Keishing, a member of the first Lok Sabha, passed away on August 22 this year. He was 96. Born on October 25, 1920 in Bungpa village in Manipur’s Ukhrul district, Keishing won the seat seven times. He became the state’s chief minister from 1980 to 1988 and from 1994 to 1997.

Opposition leader and former chief minister O Ibobi Singh spoke about the public service done by Rishang Keishing during a crucial period of the state. He also lauded Rishang’s activities including setting up of Manipur University,inclusion of Manipur language in the 8th schedule, setting up of Nupi Lal complex, sports complex, housing complex during his tenure as chief minister.

Deputy Chief Minister Y Joykumar who holds the finance portfolio, Agriculture minister V Hangkhalian, Forest Minister Th Shyamkumar, MLAs TN Haokip, Md Abdul Nasir, S Rajen, Paonam Brojen and K Leishiyo also participated in the obituary reference in the house.

The Secretary of the assembly M Ramani Devi also intimated the house on the Governor’s assent to six bills including The Dhanamajuri University Bill, 2017 Assented on October 25, 2017 and Manipur Coaching Institute (Control and Regulation) Bill,2017.

The winter session of Manipur assembly will continue till December 23.


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at:

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.