With 125 votes in favour, the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill (CAB) was passed by the Rajya Sabha on Wednesday. A total of 105 votes were polled against it.

CAB was passed in the Lok Sabha on Monday.

The three Shiv Sena MPs staged a walkout. Several opposition MPs were also absent from voting.

The passing of CAB will pave way for the non-Muslims persons persecuted in Afganisthan, Bangladesh, and Pakistan will now be able to apply for Indian citizenship.

Widespread protests were witnessed across Northeast against CAB.

The Bill will now go to the President.

“As the Citizenship Amendment Bill 2019 passes in the Parliament, the dreams of crores of deprived & victimised people has come true today,” tweeted home minister Amit Shah.

“Grateful to PM @narendramodi ji for his resolve to ensure dignity and safety for these affected people. I thank everyone for their support.,” he added.

Former Congress president Sonia Gandhi in a tweet said, “Today marks a dark day in the constitutional history of India.”

“The passage of the Citizenship Amendment Bill marks the victory of narrow-minded and bigoted forces over India’s pluralism,” she added.

“Big win for democracy. A well debated #ConstitutionalAmendmentBill & brilliant pointwise clarifications by HM
@AmitShah ji.Congratulate PM @narendramodi ji for sheltering & giving a home to minorities being prosecuted in neighbouring countries in the passing of Bill by #Parliament,” tweeted MP Rajyavardhan Rathore.

Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: contact@nenow.in