Assam CM Sarbananda Sonowal and Union human resource development minister Ramesh Pokhrial kick start the membership drive in Guwahati on Saturday.

The ruling BJP in Assam has started the fresh membership drive across the state with a target of having 33 lakh members.

The programme was started by Prime Minister Narendra Modi at Varanasi on Saturday morning.

Following the programme at Varanasi by the Prime Minister, Assam chief minister Sarbananda Sonowal and Union human resource development minister Ramesh Pokhrial officially kick started the membership drive at a programme in Guwahati on Saturday.

Party officials said that the saffron party will be focusing to make inroads into the Muslim majority areas as well as the tribal dominated areas of the state during the fresh membership drives.

“We are spreading our arms to major sections of society. We are working for Sabka Sath, Sabka Vikas, Sabka vishwas (collective efforts, inclusive growth, inclusive confidence),” said a senior party leader while adding that the party has already got immense support from the people irrespective of the cast creed and religion.

“The results of the Lok Sabha elections are the indication that the people have welcomed the good governance of BJP.  However, there are some areas where we need to focus and we are going to do that,” he said.

The BJP in Assam has won nine out of the 14 Lok Sabha seats in Assam while the Congress won three seats followed by one seat won by the AIUDF.

The saffron party that came to power in 2016 had already made inroads into the tea garden areas and some of the tribal dominated areas.

“While we have made a strong organisation base in the hill areas of Karbi Anglong and Dima Hasao and wrested the one Lok Sabha seats which include the two hill districts, we need to build our base in Bodoland.  Bodoland roughly accounts for 12 assembly seats,” the senior party leader said.

The BJP has 61 MLAs in Assam legislative assembly while its allies Asom Gana Parishad (AGP) and Bodoland Peoples Front (BPF) had won 14 and 12 seats respectively in assembly polls in 2016.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.