Of the 126 MLAs, who were elected to the Assam Assembly after winning the last general elections.

A total of 125 legislators, who were sworn in as MLAs on the first day of the Assam Assembly session on Friday, three MLAs took oath in Sanskrit language.

The three MLAs, who took oath in Sanskrit language, were Nalbari MLA Jayanta Malla Baruah, Hajo MLA Suman Hripriya and Bihpuria MLA Amiya Kumar Bhuyan.

The Sanskrit University in Assam –  Kumar Bhaskar Varma Sanskrit and Ancient Studies University (KBVSASU) – is located in Nalbari.

The Assam Cabinet in December 2020 decided to close all the Madrassas and Sanskrit Tols run by the state government.

Earlier on May 19, Bongaigaon MLA and AGP leader Phanibhushan Choudhury took oath as MLA and pro-tem Speaker.

Also read: Assam Government to ‘secularise’ school education, Madrasas and Sanskrit Tols will cease to exist

Jamunamukh MLA Sirajuddin Ajmal did not turn up to take oath on Friday.

While most of the MLAs took oath in Assamese language, a few other MLAs took oath in Bengali, English, Hindi and Bodo language.

The MLAs were administered the oath of office and secrecy by pro-tem speaker Phanibhushan Choudhury in the Assam Legislative Assembly at Dispur.

Akhil Gogoi, a ‘jailed’ activist, who was elected from Sivasagar constituency, also took oath as an MLA on Friday.

Gogoi is the president of Raijor Dal, a newly-floated regional political party, backed by farmers’ organisation Krishak Mukti Sangram Samit (KMSS).

A Special NIA Court on May 11 granted permission to Gogoi to take oath as a legislator in the Assam Assembly.

He was taken to the Assam Assembly directly from Gauhati Medical College Hospital (GMCH) amid tight security.

Gogoi has been languishing in jail since December 2019 on charges of sedition and inciting violence during protests against the Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA) in Assam.

Akhil Gogoi was taken to the Assembly on a city bus directly from GMCH.

Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: contact@nenow.in