President Ram Nath Kovind on Friday gave his nod for resuming delimitation exercise in Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Manipur, and Nagaland.

“The President is satisfied that the circumstances leading to the deferment cease to exist and is, therefore, pleased to rescind the February 8, 2008 order,” a Law Ministry order said.

“A Delimitation Commission was set up under the Delimitation Act, 2002 to readjust the division of each state and union territory into territorial constituencies for the purpose of Lok Sabha and state assembly elections on the basis of census figures of 2001,” the order further stated.

Adding further the order said, “The Delimitation Commission completed the delimitation exercise and the Delimitation Order, 2008 in respect of all the states, except in these four northeastern states.”

Delimitation, according to the Election Commission website, means the act or process of fixing limits or boundaries of territorial constituencies in a country or a province having a legislative body.

Delimitation Commissions in India have been constituted four times in the past in 1952 under the Delimitation Commission Act, 1952, in 1963 under Delimitation Commission Act, 1962, in 1973 under Delimitation Act, 1972 and in 2002 under Delimitation Act, 2002.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: