BJP supporters celebrating victory in Lakhimpur, Image credit: UB Photos

As counting of votes of Panchayat Polls-2018 at Jonai sub-division in Dhemaji district is completed, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) backed Sanmilita Gana Sakti (SGS) has captured two Zilla Parishad (ZPC) seats- Pub-Jonai and Simenchapori besides winning in majority seats of Anchalika panchayat and Gram panchayats in the sub-division.

The Jonai sub-divisional administration conducted panchayat poll in two ZPCs and an Anchalik Panchayat.

SGS candidate Atul Pegu has won in Pub-Jonai ZPC by defeating Congress candidate Sanjay Pegu by a margin of 8249 votes. As such, SGS nominee Subharani Basumatary has elected from Simenchapori ZP seat by beating its nearest contestants Congress candidate Jyotshna Mili Pegu by a margin of 6,271 votes.

As per Jonai election department report, out of the total 15 seats of Murkongselek (Jonai) Anchalik Panchayat, independents including SGS have won in 12 seats, while opposition Congress has managed to capture only three seats.

As such, out of the total 15 Gaon Panchayat President (GPP) seats, ruling party backed SGS has won in 11 including the prestigious Jonai Gaon Panchayat seat.

The Congress has bagged 4 GPP seats and also captured 33 Gaon Panchayat Member (GPM) seats out of the total 150 under the two ZPCs.

Asom Gana Parishad (AGP), who was contesting the poll could not win any seat in the two ZPCs fall under Jonai Sub-division.

On the other hand, counting of votes for five ZPCs and four Anchalik Panchayats under Dhemaji Sadar Sub-division is underway. Results of 21 gaon panchayats have been declared after the seven round of counting at 3.00 pm on Thursday.

As per the counting report so far, independent candidate Gohin Gogoi is leading in Dhemaji ZPC, while BJP and its ally SGS is marching ahead in Sisiborgaon and Sissitongani ZPCs.

The ruling party and its ally also leading in majority GPP and Anchaik Panchayat member (APM) seats of Dhemaji, Muchkhuwa and Bordoloni ZPCs.

The ruling party so far has won 10 GPP and 11 APM seats in the five ZPCs while its ally SGS itself has won both GPP and APM seats in four panchayats under Sissitonagni ZPCs.

The AGP so far has captured a number of GPP and APM seats in Dhemaji, Muchkhowa and Bordoloni ZPCs.

Prafulla Kaman is Northeast Now Correspondent in Dhemaji. He can be reached at:

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.