Over 79 per cent voters exercised their franchise till 5 p.m. in the third and final phase of the Assam Assembly election on Tuesday.

The third phase of the poll is being conducted in 40 constituencies spread over 12 districts in lower Assam amid tight security.

A total of 337 candidates, including 25 women aspirants are in the fray.

All Covid-19 protocols for the voters including social distancing and thermal screening are being maintained.

Election officials said that no untoward incident was reported from anywhere, where polling is underway peacefully and smoothly.

The voters comprising men, women and the first time electorates, in large numbers queued up in front of the polling stations well before they opened at 7 a.m.

Chief Electoral Officer Nitin Khade said, a total of 79,19,641 voters, including 39,07,963 women electorates, are eligible to cast their ballots across 9,587 polling stations in 6,107 locations.

Of the 9,587 polling stations, 316 are all women-managed polling stations.

Tuesday’s electoral battle is crucial for the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the opposition Congress as both the parties won 11 seats each in the 2016 Assembly polls.

The BJP’s ally Asom Gana Parishad had bagged four seats, while the Bodoland People’s Front (BPF) and All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) secured eight and six seats, respectively.

Both the BPF and the AIUDF this time are part of the Congress-led ‘Mahajot’ (grand alliance).

Tuesday’s polling would also decide the fate of Assam influential minister Himanta Biswa Sarma and BJP president Ranjeet Kumar Dass.

Sarma, convener of the BJP backed anti-Congress body North East Democratic Alliance, is contesting from the Jalukbari seat from where he has consecutively won since 2001.

Meanwhile, Dass is contesting from the Patacharkuchi seat. In the 2016 elections, he was elected to the Assembly from the Sorbhog constituency.
The results will be declared on May 2.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: contact@nenow.in