BTC Polls
Representational image

The Election Commission on Tuesday announced that by-elections in Rangapara and Sivasagar assembly constituencies in Assam will not be conducted.

Both the seats had fallen vacant after the deaths of Rajen Borthakur (BJP) and Pranab Gogoi (Congress) respectively.

The EC, however, announced that by-elections to one Lok Sabha and 56 assembly seats spread across 12 states will be held on November 3 and 7.

Chief Secretaries of five poll-bound states even wrote to the Chief Election Commissioner, requesting the poll panel not to hold the by-elections citing the COVID-19 crisis.

The EC after due deliberations agreed and decided not to hold polls in the five states, sources added.

The five states scheduled to go to polls in 2021 are Assam, West Bengal, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, and Puducherry.

The term of assemblies in these states will expire in April-May.

It may be mentioned here that by-elections will be held in two assembly constituencies- one each in Manipur and Nagaland.

The states where by-elections will be held are Gujarat, Haryana, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Manipur, Nagaland, Odisha, Telangana, and Uttar Pradesh.

The results will be declared on November 10.


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: