Representative image.

Around 72.62 per cent of the voters exercised their franchise for by-elections to four Assembly seats in the BJP-ruled Assam on Monday.

Election officials said the polling was peaceful and completely incident-free.

The by-polls were held at Ratabari, Rangapara, Sonari and Jania seats.

Voting figures would likely to increase as queues of voters are seen waiting at the polling booths.

The highest polling percentage of 78.21 per cent was recorded at Jania, followed by 77.50 per cent at Rangapara, 74.37 per cent at Ratabari and 66.40 per cent at Sonari.

By-election was necessitated as Tapan Gogoi (Sonari), Pallab Lochan Das (Rangapara), and Kripanath Mallah (Ratabari) of BJP respectively won in the 2019 Lok Savbha polls.

Jania MLA Abdul Kalaque won the Lok Sabha polls from Barpeta and vacated the seat.

While Gogoi was power minister, Das was labour minister.

The four constituencies have a total electorate of 6,78,898 electors, including 3,27,803 female and one third gender voter who voted in 830 polling stations.

A total of 20 candidates are in the fray with Jania having the highest number of nine contestants, followed by five at Rangapara, four at Ratabari and two at Sonari.

The counting of votes will be on October 24.

Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at:

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.