State BJP president Vanlalhmuaka announced Chhangte as the party official candidate for the upcoming bypoll.

Former Mizoram state BJP spokesperson Lalhriatrenga Chhangte was named the party contender for Serchhip assembly bypoll, which was scheduled to be held on April 17.

State BJP president Vanlalhmuaka announced Chhangte as the party official candidate for the upcoming bypoll at a function held at the party office in Aizawl on Friday.

He said that Chhangte was approved for the BJP contender by the party leadership at the Centre on Thursday.

Vanlalhmuaka claimed that Chhangte is the best contenders for the Serchhip bypoll.

He urged the people of Serchhip constituency to vote for BJP as they will be given special assistance from the Centre if the party candidate is elected.

Chhangte entered politics and joined the BJP in July 2019 after his retirement as deputy controller of mines at Indian Bureau of Mines, Kolkata.

He had unsuccessfully contested the Lok Sabha polls in April 2019 as independent and secured 12,675 votes to stand at “fifth” rank among six contenders for the polls.

The Lok Sabha polls was won by Mizo National Front (MNF) nominee C. Lalrosanga.

Chhangte, who is contesting his home turf, said he is hopeful to win the bypoll.

He will on March 30, the last date for filing nomination papers, he said.

Meanwhile, an election official said that at least four candidates, including an independent candidate, have already filed nominations for the Serchhip bypoll.

The ruling MNF has fielded party vice president and former Lok Sabha member and also ex-MLA Vanlalzawma, while Congress fielded party general secretary P.C. Laltlansanga, who lost to independent candidate Lalduhoma from Aizawl West-I seat in the assembly polls in 2018, he said.

Main opposition Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) tipped party leader and former Lok Sabha member Lalduhoma, who won the seat in 2018 but later disqualified under the anti-defection law in November last year.

The newly floated People’s Conference (PC) party vice president Vanlalruata will also file nomination on March 30, party sources said.

The last date for withdrawal of candidature is fixed on April 3 and counting of votes will be undertaken on May 2.

Serchhip bypoll is necessitated by the disqualification of Lalduhoma in November 2020.

In the last assembly polls held in November 2018 Lalduhoma, who contested on independent, won two seats- Aizawl West-I and Serchhip.

Later, he vacated Aizawl West-I to retain the Serchhip seat.

In the present 40-member assembly, the ruling MNF has 27 members, Congress (5) and BJP (1).

There are 6 independent candidates, who are informally linked to the ZPM.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: