A new body of the Guwahati Lawn Tennis Association (GLTA) was formed on Tuesday with Kalyan Kumar Das as the president.

The new office-bearers of Guwahati Lawn Tennis Association were elected at the Association’s annual general meeting held in a city hotel with Kalyan Kumar Das in the chair.

During the meeting, senior tennis player and sports organiser Kalyan Kumar Das was elected unopposed as the president of the Association for the period of 2020-2022.

Bhaskar Sarma and Dilip Pathak were elected as the honorary general secretary and honorary treasurer of the Association, respectively.

“Pronoy Bordoloi was nominated as the chief advisor while Riniki Bhuyan Sarma, Anirban Das and Kishore Jayanta Madhab were nominated as the advisors of the Association respectively,” Bhaskar Sarma, honorary general secretary of GLTA said in a press release.

The meeting also adopted the honorary general secretary’s annual report and the honorary treasurer’s audited state of accounts for the year 2019-2020.

The meeting discussed various matters related to the development of the Association and opined that the motto of the Association “Tennis for All” may be given maximum importance in the years to come.

Other members of the Association include working president – Dr. Madhuryya Hazarika,                       vice-presidents– Raja Kakoti, Hrishikesh Bijoy Das, honorary joint secretaries – Samar Deka, Debangshu Bora, executive committee members – Dr. Vikash Bawri, Rituraj Bhagawati, Dhiraj Dutta, Ajoy Das and Rajesh Barua, the release said.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: contact@nenow.in