Jorhat Deputy Commissioner Narayan Konwar (2nd from right) addressing media regarding preparations for panchayat polls in the district. Photo: Northeast Now

The Jorhat district administration has identified the very sensitive and sensitive polling booths and will take adequate measures to tighten security during the panchayat elections to be held on December 5 in the district.

Jorhat Deputy Commissioner Narayan Konwar and SP Vaibhav Nimbalkar on Wednesday briefed media persons regarding preparations for panchayat elections in Jorhat sadar subdivision.

The SP said that 40 polling stations had been identified as very sensitive, 192 as sensitive and 377 as relatively safe in Jorhat sub-division.

He said that a helpline would be opened and security personnel will be on duty round the clock.

Konwar said that the sub-division had been divided into 6 zones and 31 sectors.

There are 57 Gaon Panchayats, 5 Anchalik Panchayats and 12 Zila Parishad constituencies.

Konwar said the total number of voters is 351739 and there are 179267 male voters and 172472 female voters. The total numbers of polling stations are 609.

About the new rules he said candidates willing to contest will have to file affidavits on the existence of sanitary facilities in their houses and the number of children born on or before March 19, 2018 as per the new guidelines. The administration will cross check the facts.

For someone wanting to contest the Gaon panchayat, the minimum educational qualification will be class 6 pass, for Anchalik Panchayats the qualification will be class 8 pass and for Zila Parishad it is higher secondary pass.

Titabar sub-division election officer N Changmai said Titabar too has been divided into six zones and 16 sectors, there are 7 ZPC seats, 4 Anchalik Panchayats and 33 Gaon Panchayats.

The numbers of polling stations are 347 and total voters are 211424 with 105935 males and 10548 females.

Changmai said that 95 “booths had been identified as very sensitive and 120 sensitive out of the 347 polling booths in Titabor Sub-Division and 132 relatively safe.”

He further said that nomination for ZP, APCC and Gaon Panchayat presidents could be filed at the SDO’s office and for the ward members at the respective development blocks.

Changmai further said that the helpline number was 03771248050.

Smita Bhattacharyya

Smita Bhattacharyya is Northeast Now Correspondent in Jorhat. She can be reached at:

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.