Assam Congress
A view of the Swatantrata Yatra.

To mark the celebrations of the 75th Independence Day, the Assam Pradesh Congress Committee (APCC) took out a Swatantrata Yatra in Guwahati on Sunday.

The Swatantrata Yatra was participated by APCC) president Bhupen Kumar Borah, deputy CLP leader in Lok Sabha Gaurav Gogoi, Assam Congress Legislature Party (ACLP) leader Debabrata Saikia, APCC media department’s chairperson Bobbeeta Sharma and other party leaders and workers.

On the occasion of the 75th Independence Day, APCC president Borah unfurled the tricolour at a function organised by the Assam Pradesh Congress Committee and conducted by Seva Dal at Rajiv Bhawan in Guwahati.

The Independence Day celebration function was attended by a large number of Congress leaders, elected representatives, office-bearers, party members and well-wishers, Bobbeeta Sharma informed in a statement.

“In his address, Borah recalled the sacrifices made by our countless soldiers of freedom movement at the national level while special mention was made on the glorious contributions of freedom fighters from Assam,” APCC leader Sharma said.

Borah said, “Freedom-loving Indian people tried to shake the foreign yoke in 1857 itself and after a long struggle and immense sacrifice of our leaders and freedom fighters, we finally got our freedom in 1947.”

Borah also mentioned in his speech, “The freedom that we have got is precious and starting from scratch, India has been able to stand on its own feet in the last 75 years, but we still have to strive to get economic freedom for all.”

“However, today the ruling dispensation instead of talking about how to tackle unemployment and other issues like foods, etc. in Assam is busy spreading communal, hatred between our citizens.”

He appealled to the people of Assam to be “cautious and conscious of such attempts and be vigilant about keeping our unity intact”.

Borah concluded his speech with a quote from Rupkonwar Jyoti Prasad Agarwala –

“Biswa bijoy naujawan,
Shakti shali Bharatar ulai aha, ulai aha,
Santan tumi biplabor,
Mrityu bijoy koribo lagibo, swadhinotar khuli dwar…”

Later, Borah led the Swatantrata Yatra, which was part of the year-long programme of the 75th Year Independence Celebration Committee under the chairmanship of former minister and senior Congress leader Sarat Barkataki, she said.

The Swatantrata Yatra was started from Rajiv Bhawan through GS Road under Bhangagarh Flyover with a large group of participants and concluded back at the Congress headquarters, Sharma informed.

The Independence celebration was also participated by APCC working president Kamalakhsya Dey Purkayastha, former Rajya Sabha MP Dwijen Sarma, former ministers Tankabahadur Rai, Akon Bora, Pranatee Phukan and State Mahila Congress president Nandita Das.

Congress leaders Sirajul Hussain Saikia, Nripen Thakuria, Guwahati City DCC president Swapan Das, office-bearers of APCC, APMC, Youth Congress, Seva Dal, NSUI, Young Brigade and other party members also participated in the programme.

APCC general secretary Apurba Kumar Bhattacharjee conducted the programme.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: