The Congress party has constituted a screening committee for the upcoming Assam Assembly Elections.

The Congress has constituted a 9-member screening committee.

Former Maharashtra Chief Minister and senior Congress leader Prithviraj Chavan is being appointed as the Chairman of the candidates screening committee.

The Committee also comprises of Kamaleshwar Patel and Dipika Pandey Singh as its members.

On the other hand the Congress screening committee has as many as six ex-officio members.

Congress’ Assam in-charge Jitendra Singh Alwar, Assam Congress president Ripun Bora, Assam CLP leader Debabrata Saikia, All India Congress Committee (AICC) secretaries – Anirudh Singh, Prithviraj Prabhakar Sathe and Vikash Upadhaya are being appointed as ex-officio members of the Congress screening committee.

Also read: Price-hike of fuel, essential commodities pushing common man into abject misery: Congress leader Priyanka Gandhi in Assam

The Congress screening committee will go through all the possible names that can be put up as party candidates in the upcoming Assam Assembly Elections.

Also read: Youngsters, vote to save Assam this time: Congress leader Priyanka Gandhi in Lakhimpur


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: