Debabrata Saikia

The Congress has elected Nazira MLA Debabrata Saikia as leader of the Congress Legislature Party (CLP) in Assam for the second time.

56-year-old Saikia, son of late chief minister Hiteswar Saikia, also served as the leader of the opposition during the previous term from 2016 to 2021.

Three-time Nazira MLA Saikia was unanimously elected as the leader of the Congress Legislature Party, said APCC president Ripun Bora in a list submitted to the Speaker of the Assam Legislative Assembly on Thursday.

Samaguri MLA Rakibul Hussain has been chosen as the deputy leader of the party, while Wajed Ali Choudhury has been selected as the Chief Whip of the party.

Kamalakhya Dey Purkayastha has been inducted as the deputy chief whip of Congress and Mariani MLA Rupjyoti Kurmi has been chosen as the secretary of the Congress Legislature Party.

Sushanta Borgohain and Rekibuddin Ahmed have been elected as the spokesperson and treasurer of the party respectively.

The first Assam Assembly session after the formation of the new government will begin on Friday with 50 percent attendance. The session summoned by GovernorJagadish Mukhi would be for three days.

On the first day of the session, all the newly elected 126 MLAs will be administered the oath of secrecy.

Newly elected Paneri legislator Biswajit Daimary has been nominated as the speaker of the Assam Legislative Assembly, while Bokajan MLA Numal Momin has been nominated as the deputy speaker of the assembly.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: