China has reportedly renamed at least 15 places in Arunachal Pradesh on Thursday.

The new names termed to be “standardised” were released on Thursday along with the coordinates and a map.

China’s Ministry of Civil Affairs made the announcement just a few days ahead of the new border law.

It may be mentioned that on Chinese maps, Arunachal Pradesh is termed as Zangnan or South Tibet.

China over the years has been claiming Arunachal Pradesh as South Tibet which is firmly rejected by the External Affairs Ministry which says the state is an “inseparable part of India”.

The 15 places named on Thursday included eight residential areas, four mountains, two rivers and one mountain pass.

As per reports, eight towns on the list were Sengkezong and Daglungzong in Cona county of Shannan prefecture, Mani’gang, Duding and Migpain in Medog county of Nyingchi, Goling, Damba in Zayu county of Nyingchi, and Mejag in Lhunze county of Shannan; the mountains were Wamo Ri, Deu Ri, Lhunzhub Ri and Kumingxingze Feng; the two rivers were Xenyogmo He and Dulain He, and the mountain pass on the list was Se La.


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: