Gauhati High Court.

The Centre has notified appointments of 20 new high court judges – eight each to the Gauhati and Allahabad High Courts, and four judges to the Madras High Court.

The Department of Justice said in the exercise of the power conferred under the Constitution, the President, in consultation with the Chief Justice of India, has approved the appointment of advocates and judicial officers as judges of high courts, said a statement.

For the Gauhati High Court, advocates Kakheto Sema, Devashis Baruah, Arun Dev Choudhury and judicial officers Malasri Nandi, and Marli Vankung, have been appointed judges.

The Department of Justice notified the appointment of three additional judges – Soumitra Saikia, Parthivjyoti Saikia, and S. Hukato Swu – as judges of the Gauhati High Court.

In the Allahabad High Court, advocates Chandra Kumar Rai, Krishan Pahal, Sameer Jain, Ashutosh Srivastava, Subhash Vidyarthi, Brij Raj Singh, Shree Prakash Singh, and Vikas Budhwar have been appointed as judges.

For Madras High Court, advocate Sundaram Srimathy, D. Bharatha Chakravarthy, R. Vijayakumar, and Mohammed Shaffiq have become judges.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: