Pramod Boro-led United People’s Party Liberation (UPPL) was leading in 14 seats according to the trends at 4.30 pm on Saturday as votes were being counted for the election to the 40-member Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC).

Bodoland People’s Front, led by former BTC chief Hagrama Mahilary, was leading in 13 seats while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) was leading in 11 seats.

Opposition Congress and Kokrajhar Lok Sabha MP Naba Kumar Sarania-led Gana Suraksha Party (GSP) are leading in one seat each.

BPF president and former BTC chief Mahilary is trailing behind by more than 2,500 votes in Debargaon constituency. He is also trailing in Kachugaon seat.

Former deputy chief BTC, Kampa Borgoyary is also trailing behind by more than 2,800 votes in Chirang Duar constituency.

Pramod Boro is leading by more than 400 votest in Goybari in Baksa district. However, he is trailing in Koklabari.

The counting of votes began at 8 am on Saturday in 10 counting centres across four BTR districts — Kokrajhar, Chirang, Baksa and Udalguri.

There a total of 40 seats in BTC and the seats required to form the council is 21.

Rinoy Basumatary

Rinoy Basumatary is Northeast Now Correspondent in Kokrajhar. He can be reached at: