BTC chief Hagrama Mohilary. (File image)

The Bodoland People’s Front (BPF), led by Hagrama Mohilary, has emerged as the single largest party in Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC) election.

The party has bagged 17 of the 40 seats that went for poll, with just four seats short of majority.

Pramod Boro-led UPPL won 12 seats and the BJP captured nine seats.

The Congress, which formed a pre-poll alliance with the AIUDF, and the Gana Suraksha Party (GSP), won just one seat each.

The BTC polls were held for 40 constituencies across the four districts of Kokrajhar, Baksa, Udalguri and Chirang under Bodoland Territorial Region (BTR).

Assam’s regional party – Asom Gana Parishad (AGP), drew a blank.

While the BJP,  which was contesting against its own ally BPF,  has given indication that they would join hands with UPPL.

The BPF, BJP, UPPL, Congress and AIUDF are the major parties contesting the polls which had a total of 243 candidates in the fray.

In the first phase, polling was held for 21 seats in Udalguri and Baksa districts.

The second phase witnessed polling for 19 constituencies in Kokrajhar and Chirang districts.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: