The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is holding its national executive meeting at the NDMC convention centre in New Delhi. 

Prime Minister Narendra Modi is attending the executive meeting which has been convened to to discuss organisational matters as well as the party’s strategy for the assembly polls in seven states next year. 

The seven states that go to Assembly elections next year are: Goa, Manipur, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Himachal Pradesh and Gujarat. 

Of the seven states that go to polls next year, four states – Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Goa and Manipur – have BJP governments. 

Veteran leaders LK Advani and Murli Manohar Joshi are attending the meeting virtually.  

Also read: Congress demands PM Modi to ‘apologise’ after Pentagon report mentions Chinese village in Arunachal Pradesh

While BJP national president JP Nadda delivered the opening address, PM Narendra Modi will deliver the valedictory address. 

The meeting will also discuss the saffron party’s debacle in the recently held by-polls in three Assembly seats and one Lok Sabha seat in Himachal Pradesh. 

In West Bengal, the BJP’s slide continued as the ruling Trinamool Congress (TMC) registered ‘unprecedented’ victory in all four assembly seats. 

In Karnataka, another BJP-ruled state, the BJP suffered defeat in chief minister Basavaraj Bommai’s home district.  

However, in Assam, it bagged all five assembly constituencies. 

Chief ministers of the states where the party is in power and national executive members from these states are virtually attending the meeting. 


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: