BCCI Kamakhya Saikia of Assam
Kamakhya Saikia. Image credit - Twitter@ACA

The BCCI has appointed Assam Cricket Association’s joint secretary Kamakhya Saikia as an observer for the India-New Zealand second T20 international match be held on November 19 at Ranchi in Jharkhand.

Informing about the good news, Assam Cricket Association on its Twitter handle wrote: Assam Cricket Association takes great pleasure while informing that Shri Kamakhya Saikia, Joint Secretary, Assam Cricket Association has been appointed as “BCCI Observer” for the India Vs New Zealand Second T20 Match, scheduled to be held on November 19, 2021 in Ranchi.”

BCCI appointed Kamakhya Saikia in 2019 as the observer for the Emerging Team Asia Cup.

Meanwhile, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) president and former India captain Sourav Ganguly has been appointed as the chairman of the International Cricket Council (ICC) Cricket Committee.

Also read: Assam: Only 1032 doubtful cases from NRC referred to DCs for necessary action

This was announced on Wednesday by the International Cricket Council (ICC).

BCCI chairman Ganguly has replaced long-time former international teammate Anil Kumble in the role.

Also read: Assam Police officer caught red-handed while taking bribe

“BCCI Chair Sourav Ganguly has been appointed to the position of Chair of the ICC Men’s Cricket Committee after Anil Kumble stepped down having served a maximum of three, three-year terms,” the ICC said in a statement.

Ganguly was president of the Cricket Association of Bengal between 2015 and 2019 and took charge as the BCCI president in October 2019.

Also read: SC pulls up Centre over affidavit on community kitchen, says will throw out your deficient papers

ICC chairman Greg Barclay has thanked Kumble for his leadership in the 9 years that he served as the chairman.

“I am delighted to welcome Sourav to the position of Chair of the ICC Men’s Cricket Committee,” Barclay said.

The Assam Cricket Association has also congratulated Sourav Ganguly for being appointed as the new ICC Men’s Cricket Committee chairman.

“Shri Romen Dutta, President, ACA and Shri Devajit Saikia, Secretary, ACA extend their heartfelt congratulations to Shri Sourav Ganguly, President, Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) for being appointed as the Chair of the ICC Men’s Cricket Committee,” ACA tweeted.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: contact@nenow.in