A new committee of the Rengma Naga Peoples’ Council (RNPC) was formed on Friday with Kenilo Rengma as its new president while Aga Rengma was elected as the new general secretary.

The new committee of the Rengma Naga Peoples’ Council was formed during its general body meeting at Hada Village in Assam’s Karbi Anglong district on Friday.

Informing this, the Rengma Naga Peoples’ Council in a press statement said the meeting was attended by all the former office-bearers, affiliated units and the general public of the Rengma Nagas of Assam.

Rengma Naga Peoples’ Council (RNPC) is the apex body of the Rengma Nagas in Assam with RNSU, RNMA, RNYO and RNGBA are its sub-ordinate units.

Also read: Assam: Rengma Naga People’s Council demands Autonomous District ‘bifurcating’ Karbi Anglong

Rengma Naga Peoples’ Council (RNPC) is headquartered at Phentsero Village in Karbi Anglong.

“Pastor Joseph Nyenthang invocated Gods’ blessings upon the GBM with his prayers,” the statement said.

The sessional chairman , Kenyisheng Nyenthang, chaired the general body meeting while Zechariah Seb recorded the session.

“A new team has been elected and inducted by the general body for the tenure 2021-2024,” the statement said.

Also read: Rengma Naga body writes to Assam CM, wants consultation with community before signing of Karbi Accord

The office-bearers of the new body of Rengma Naga Peoples’ Council are:

Apart from Kenilo Rengma – president and Aga Rengma – general secretary, the new body has two vice-presidents – Gwayhongbu Seb and Abel Seb.

Yhuntilo Seb is the joint secretary and Tekheno Rengma is the finance secretary of the new body.

Chenobu Seb is new information & publicity secretary, Rhinga Jishing is the treasurer.

The advisory board of the new body has Solomon Rengma (ex. officio), Chento Seb (ex. officio), A.J Rengma and John Seb.

Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: contact@nenow.in