Filmmaker and party adviser Jahnu Baruah speaks at the meeting.

Assam’s newly floated party, Raijor Dal on Friday constituted full-fledged Jorhat District as well as assembly constituency committees at party’s district convention.

In the convention held at Jorhat town, attended by party’s top leaders that included eminent filmmaker Jahnu Baruah, who is an advisor, a 51-member Jorhat district committee and a 43-member Jorhat Assembly constituency committee were formed.

The 51-member Jorhat district committee has Dibyajoti Sarmah as the president, Dilip Kumar Bordoloi as the working president, three general secretaries – Surjya Mohan Das, Papori Gogoi and Promode Gogoi.

Five prominent persons were selected as advisors of the district committee and they are advocate Bhabha Goswami, retired professor Niren Baruah, dramatist Debabrata Mahanta, social workers Ganesh Hazarika and Mofizur Rahman.

The 43-member Jorhat Assembly constituency committee has Amrit Chetia as the president, Mahendra Khanikar as working president, Abhijit Saikia as general secretary and four secretaries– Prasanta Rajkhowa, Rajib Hazarika, Prasanta Katani and Dibyajyoti Dutta.

The Jorhat Assembly constituency has four advisors–Promode Mahanta, Pradip Bhuyan, Pulin Das and Bharat Basumatary.

On October 18 last the party had formed a 101-member convener committee to prepare the ground for making a foothold across the district.

The meeting decided to oppose CAA tooth and nail and to demand the release of KMSS chief Akhil Gogoi.

Smita Bhattacharyya

Smita Bhattacharyya is Northeast Now Correspondent in Jorhat. She can be reached at: