UPPL member Katiram Boro took oath as the Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC) pro-tem speaker.

UPPL member Katiram Boro has taken oath as the Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC) pro-tem speaker.

Boro was elected as the MCLA from Baganpara seat on UPPL ticket.

Besides Boro four other MCLAs–Ukil Mushahary, Ranjit Basumatary, Ranendra Narzary and Anup Kumar Dey—took oath on Saturday as new executive members of the BTC.

Of the four members, Mushahary, Basumatary and Narzary are from Pramod Boro-led UPPL while Dey belongs to BJP.

With this, so far a total of nine members, including CEM and Dy CEM of the BTC have taken the oath.

They were administered the oath of office and secrecy by Rajesh Prasad, Commissioner, Lower Assam Division/

Newly elected BTC chief executive member (CEM) Pramod Boro, deputy CEM Gabinda Chandra Basumatary, MP Naba Kumar Sarania and several other dignitaries were present at the oath-taking ceremony held at the Assembly building at Bodofa Nwgwr in Kokrajhar.

“The council was formed with the sacrifice and struggle of the people.  So we should work hard for the welfare of almost 35 lakh people living in this region by following the advice of UPPL founder president UG Brahma,” said CEM Pramod Boro.


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: contact@nenow.in