Olympics medallist and star boxer from Assam – Lovlina Borgohain will receive the prestigious Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award. 

Lovlina is among the 12 sportspersons, who are to be awarded the Khel Ratna award. 

The announcement was made by the ministry of youth affairs and sports on Tuesday. 

Notably, Lovlina Borgohain had won a bronze medal at the Tokyo Olympics 2021. 

The announcement came on the day Lovlina visited Sikkim to meet her coach Sandhya Gurung after receiving the Arjuna Award. 

Also read: Virat Kohli, Anushka Sharma’s nine-month-old daughter receives rape threats

12 sportspersons who are to receive the Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award are: Neeraj Chopra (Athletics), Ravi Kumar (Wrestling), Lovlina Borgohain (Boxing), Sreejesh PR (Hockey), Avani Lekhara (Para Shooting), Sumit Antil (Para Athletics), Pramod Bhagat (Para Badminton), Krishna Nagar (Para Badminton), Manish Narwal (Para Shooting), Mithali Raj (Cricket), Sunil Chhetri (Football), and Manpreet Singh (Hockey).  

Earlier, the announcement of the national sports awards was delayed in order to consider the performances of para-athletes in the Tokyo Paralympics held from August 24 to September 5. 


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: contact@nenow.in