Ousted president of Hojai Zila Parishad Razia Sultana. Image: Northeast Now

Congress and All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) coalition formed Hojai Zila Parishad was formally dissolved on Thursday.

On July 3 last, six members of BJP submitted a no confidence motion letter to ADC Pankaj Deka against Congress and AIUDF led Zila Parishad’s first lady president Razia Sultana.

After the no confidence motion on Thursday, in the presence of Deputy Commissioner of Hojai district Tanmoy Pratim Borgohain the voting was done at district headquater Sankardev Nagar and finally the coalition formed Hojai Zila Parishad was dissolved.

It is to be mentioned here in the elections, out of 12 Zila Parishad seats BJP had won five seats, Congress won six seats and AIUDF won one seat.

Congress formed the Zila Parishad with the help of AIUDF.

Notably, few months back one Congress member from Kaki Zila Parishad joined BJP as such BJP seat increased by one.

On Thursday, two members of Congress voted against its party and in favour of Bharatiya Janata Party.

As, such BJP now has a total of eight members comprising six of its own and two Congress members.

Talking to Media, Rezia Sultana said, “Two of our members from Daboka and Nilbagan Zila Parishad has betrayed us and voted in favour of BJP.”

However, the BJP has not announced formally anyone’s name to be the next president of Hojai Zila Parishad.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: contact@nenow.in

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.