Assam Governor Prof Jagdish Mukhi constituted a three-member panel on the empowerment of autonomous colleges in Assam.

The three-member committee will be headed by education department adviser Prof. Mihir Kanti Chaudhuri, said a statement.

Higher Education department principal secretary B Kalyan Chakravarthy and JB College Principal Dr. Bimal Barah will be the members of the panel, it said.

It may be noted that consequent upon the decision taken in the meeting held in Raj Bhavan on June 29 under the Chairmanship of Prof Jagdish Mukhi where it was decided that as a part of the implementation of National Education Policy (NEP) 2020, steps will be taken to grant more powers to three autonomous colleges of Assam–North Lakhimpur College, Lakhimpur, Jagannath Barooah College, Jorhat and Nowgong College, Nagaon.

In that particular meeting, a decision was also taken to constitute a high-powered committee to work out ways and means to empower the autonomous colleges of Assam.

The committee which will submit its report within 30 days from the date of notification will formulate a procedure to be adopted for the empowerment of the three autonomous colleges of Assam in tune with the provisions of the NEP 2020.

Moreover, the committee will also assess the resources (monetary, manpower, material, academic etc.) required for the purpose.

Further, the committee will also decide on the modus operandi to enable these autonomous colleges to award degrees on their own, besides creating adequate space for them to make progress in research and training as per NEP 2020.

The committee will also study other matters related to NEP 2020, the statement added.


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: