Assam Governor Jagdish Mukhi has changed the name of Bodoland Territorial Area District (BTAD) to Bodoland Territorial Region (BTR) with immediate effect.

The change in name has been made under the sixth schedule of the Constitution of India.

The renaming of BTAD as BTR was one of the provisions of the Bodo Peace Accord signed on January 27, 2020.

Moreover, the Governor also constituted a commission for the alteration of the BTR area under paragraph 14 of the sixth schedule of the Indian Constitution.

Retired IAS officer PP Verma has been named as the chairman of the commission.

The members of the commission include Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC) administrator, All Bodo Students’ Union (ABSU) vice-president Jayanta Basumatary,   convenor of Red Cross, Udalguri Dalim Bayan and joint secretary of the Assam government’s home and political department.

“The Commission will submit its recommendation within six months from the date of this notification,” stated an official notification.

“This will come into effect from the date of issue of the notification,” the notification issued by the joint secretary of the home and political department on Monday further added.

Meanwhile, Assam health minister Himanta Biswa Sarma expressed his in a tweet as, ” Excellent news for both Bodo and Non-Bodo communities. This committee will finally resolve the most contentious issue on the basis of free will.”


Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: