The Dibrugarh District Congress Committee on Friday selected Debranjan Gogoi as its new district president ahead of the upcoming state assembly elections.

The outgoing Dibrugarh district Congress president and former Assam minister Atuwa Munda has stepped down because he will focus on the elections in his Tingkong assembly constituency.

The Congress is busy preparing strategies to win the majority of the state assembly seats in Upper Assam.

Atuwa Munda said, “The party high command has decided to elect a new president for Dibrugarh and told me to focus on the Tingkong constituency. We will work together to develop the party in Dibrugarh.”

“I am ready to work with Congress workers at the grassroot level and in the coming days we will focus on strengthening our party in Dibrugarh,” Debranjan Gogoi said.

“We will select those candidates who can win for the upcoming state assembly elections. We are hopeful of winning the majority of the Upper Assam seats and all the seats in the Dibrugarh district,” he said.

Of the seven state assembly seats in the Dibrugarh district, 6 are occupied by the BJP and one by the AGP.

“The BJP has done nothing for the people. We will highlight these issues in the upcoming elections,” Gogoi added.

Avik Chakraborty

Avik Chakraborty is Northeast Now Correspondent in Dibrugarh. He can be reached at: