The Dibrugarh district administration on Wednesday announced 12 containment zones and 4 micro containment zones after raising cases of Covid19 cases in the district.

The containment zones are Burikhowang, Zaloni tea estate, Dahal Gaon(Sasoni), Nakhat Sonowal Gaon, Baghtoli Bahani Gaon, Mayajan tea estate, Kulagora, Dihajan Gaon, Achabam tea estate, Chengelijan tea estate, Tiloibari Nepali Gaon, Urang Gaon.

The Dibrugarh administration has started sanitization work and vaccination in the affected tea gardens where most of the Covid19 positive cases have been detected.

Also read: Assam reports 71 more Covid19 deaths, 5,657 new cases in last 24 hours

“Most of the Covid19 cases were detected from Zaloni tea estate and Mayajan tea estate,” said an official of the Dibrugarh health department.

“We have started vaccination drive in the tea gardens and sanitization work to contain Covid19 cases,” the official said.

According to data, 289 Covid19 deaths were reported from the Dibrugarh district till May 11, 2021.

“A meeting with the circle officers of Dibrugarh district was held at Dibrugarh Deputy Commissioner’s office to discuss the containment zones after cases of Covid19 are on the rise in Moran and its nearby area.

“As discussed, strict action will be taken against those, who will violate the Covid protocols in containment zones,” the official said.

On Tuesday, 419 Covid19 cases were detected in the Dibrugarh district.

Avik Chakraborty

Avik Chakraborty is Northeast Now Correspondent in Dibrugarh. He can be reached at: