Assam Chief ministerSarbananda  Sonowal on Friday felicitated and distributed cheques to three plasma donors in Dibrugarh.

These three donors donated plasma at Assam Medical College Plasma bank on the first day of the project taken by Dibrugarh Press Club and Shree Marwari Natya Samity in association with Dibrugarh District Administration.

The chief minister also handed over the appreciation certificates to the three donors- Ravi Sharma, Bablu Das and Abdul Noor.

MLA Prashanta Phukan, Dibrugarh Deputy Commissioner Pallav Gopal Jha, representative of both the organisations and social worker Ajit Bajaj were also present in the certificate distribution programme.

CM Sonowal appreciated the initiative taken by the organisations and appealed the eligible donors to come forward to donate plasma.

“I feel proud to donate plasma after being affected by COVID-19. I thank the organisations for taking such a step to motivate the donors”, said Bablu Das, one of the donors.

Dibrugarh Press Club and Marwari Natya Samity in association with Dibrugarh district administration have announced to honour and reward with Rs 5000 each to 100 donors who donate plasma with effect from September 10 at AMCH.

A total of seven donors donated plasma on the first day on Thursday.

Dibrugarh Press Club and Marwari Natya Samity thanked all the well-wishers, donors who have extended their cooperation, help and support for the project specially  Makhan Gattani of Jorhat who contributed for 70 donors.

“We appeal to the people to donate plasma to save the life of others who are infected with COVID-19,” said Kailash Bagaria, president of Marwari Natya Samity.

“People should not afraid to donate plasma because through plasma donation once can save other lives,” he added.

Avik Chakraborty

Avik Chakraborty is Northeast Now Correspondent in Dibrugarh. He can be reached at: