The Chief Executive Members (CEMs) of the district councils BTR (Bodoland Territorial Region), Karbi Anglong and Dima Hasao have been accorded with cabinet status. 

The decision was taken during the weekly cabinet meeting of the Assam Cabinet on Wednesday. 

While, UPPL president Pramod Boro is the CEM of BTR, Tuliram Ronghang is the CEM of Karbi Anglong Autonomous District Council (KAADC) and Debolal Gorlosa is the CEM of North Cachar Hills Autonomous Council (NCHAC). 

Moreover, the cabinet also decided to appoint senior advocate Debojit Saikia as the Advocate General of Assam. 

Also read: Delhi gears up for third wave of COVID-19, to create special task force to save children from virus 

Debojit Saikia is also the Secretary of Assam Cricket Association. He is a former Ranji player and an administrator. 

Other decisions taken in the cabinet meeting:

  1. If any new Oxygen plant is set up, State Govt would provide 100% free power supply.  
  2. For reviving closed Oxygen plants, 100% free power would be provided. 
  3. The nomenclature of I/C minister would be changed to Guardian Minister who would take responsibility of their respective districts. 


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: