Image: Northeast Now

The third cash award function for different meritorious BPL students of Dima Hasao was held at Haflong on Monday.

Cash awards were given to meritorious students of the district and highest mark scorer in HSLC examination 2019 among the Dimasas.

The function was jointly organized by DSS (DLM) central committee and DSS (DLM) Dima Hasao district committee.

It was held at the Cultural Institute Hall in Haflong.

Dr Kripesh Ranjan Sarmah sponsored the cash award for 10 BPL students belonging to different communities.

DSS central committee and Dima Hasao district committee sponsored for highest mark scorer Bandana Haflongbar and one BPL student respectively.

The public meeting held in connection with the occasion was presided over by DSS president Dinendra Thaosen.

Some of the other dignitaries were DSS Dima Hasao district committee president Kalijoy Sengyung and JNH president Dethang Naiding.

Former MLA Samarjit Haflongbar, Dr Kripesh Ranjan Sarmah, Dima Hasao GBs’ association president Anil Kumar Daolagupu and DSU general secretary Pramit Sengyung also attended the programme.

GBs of Haflong area and members of DSS were also present in the meeting along with awardees and their parents and media persons.

DSS central committee treasurer Kumud Ranjan Kemprai anchored the function.

All the speakers of the meeting lauded Dr Kripesh Ranjan Sarmah for his sponsoring the cash award for BPL students.

Earler, DSS Dima Hasao district committee president Kalijoy Sengyung explained the objective of the programme.

Kumud Ranjan Kemprai gave a vote of thanks.

Pankaj Kr Deb

Pankaj Kumar Deb is Northeast Now Correspondent in Haflong. He can be reached at:

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.