Football Tripura
Representational image.

The 16th Captain Jintu Gogoi, Vir Chakra Memorial Football Tournament will begin at the Army Polo Ground in Paltan Bazar area of Dibrugarh from Sunday.

The tournament is organised under the aegis of Dao Division under Operation SADBHAVANA as a tribute to the Kargil martyr.

The first match of the tournament will be played between Moran Town Women 11 and Tengakhat College on Sunday.

Apart from these two teams, two more girl teams are taking part in the tournament and they are- Tea Sports Academy Raja Ali and Khowang College.

Apart from the four girls’ teams, 20 boys’ teams are also participating in the tournament and they are divided into two pools.

Pool A consist of Dibrugarh 11, Moran Town Boys 11, DHSK Commerce College, Tengakhat college, Khowang college, DHSK Arts & Science College, Nazira College, Lahowal College, Dao Division and Jalan tea estate team.

On the other hand, pool B consist of DDR College Chabua, Margherita team, Dirok Tea Estate team, DoomDooma College, NLB City College, Kamargaon College Golakhat, Hollonghabi Tea Estate team, 17 Garhwal Rifles and Thanai Tea Estate team.

In the boys’ section, the winners will take home cash of Rs 75,000 while the first and second runner up will get Rs 50,000 and Rs 30,000 respectively.

In the girls’ section, the winners will take home Rs 50,000 and the runner-up will win an amount of Rs 20,000.

Apart from the cash rewards, trophies will also be awarded to the victorious teams.

Avik Chakraborty

Avik Chakraborty is Northeast Now Correspondent in Dibrugarh. He can be reached at: