A total of 31 candidates belonging to different parties and independents are in fray for the by-polls to the five Assembly seats in Assam. 

By-polls to the five vacant Assam Assembly seats – Gossaigaon, Bhabanipur, Tamulpur, Mariani and Thowra will be held on October 30. 

Altogether eight candidates withdrew their nomination papers. 

The candidates who withdrew their nomination include three from Tamulpur constituency and five from Gossaigaon, the election commission said in a statement. 

Also read: Veteran Assam Congress leader Paban Singh Ghatowar’s son likely to join BJP today 

Gossaigaon constituency candidates: Jowel Tudu (INC), Jiron Basumatary (UPPL), Dhruba Kumar Brahma Narzary (BPF), Khairul Anam Khandakar (AIUDF), besides Uttam Kumar Talukdar, Kamal Roy, Osman Gani Sk and Abdul Hashem Akand (all Independents). 

Bhabanipur constituency candidates: Phanidhar Talukdar (BJP), Sailendra Nath Das (INC), Jubbar Ali (AIUDF), Merijul Haque (Road Map Party), Siben Das (Voters Party International), besides Shawkat Ali Ahmed, Khampha Khungur Goyary and Ariful Islam (all Independents). 

Tamulpur constituency candidates: Bhaskar Dahal (INC), Brajendra Nath Deka (Gana Suraksha Party), Jolen Daimary (UPPL), Raj Kumar Baro (VPI), besides Ganesh Kachary and Yaswanta Chauhan (both Independents). 

Mariani constituency candidates: Rupjyoti Kurmi (BJP), Luhit Konwar (INC), Gopal Chandra Ghatuwar (Asom Sangrami Mancha) and Sanjib Gogoi (Independent). 

Thowra constituency candidates: Sushanta Borgohain (BJP), Monuranjan Konwar (INC), Krishna Gogoi (CPI), besides Dhaijya Konwar and Lohit Gowala (both Independents). 

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: contact@nenow.in