The results for the 2020 Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC) polls in Assam will be announced today (Saturday).

Counting of votes for the council polls will be started from 8 a.m. on Saturday.

The polls were held in two phases in four BTR districts –Udalguri, Baksa, Kokrajhar and Chirang.

State Election Commission sources said counting will be held in ten subdivisonal headquarters in the four districts – Kokrajhar, Gossaigaon, Parbatjhora, Chirang, Bijni, Tamulpur, Bhergaon, Udalguri, Salbari and Mushalpur.

The two-phase polls recorded an overall 77.9 per cent polling. Compared to earlier elections, the voters turnout this time was quite high

The BPF, BJP, UPPL, Congress and AIUDF are the key players contesting the polls which had a total of 243 candidates in the fray.

The elections witnessed high-voltage campaign with war of words between the BPF chief Hagrama Mohilary and Assam minister and influential BJP leader Himanta Biswa Sarma.

In the first phase, polling was held for 21 constituencies in Udalguri and Baksa districts.

A total of 19 constituencies in Chirang and Kokrajhar district went to poll in the second phase on December 10.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: