A straight contest between Congress and BJP is going to happen in the Doomdooma constituency in the ensuing Assam Assembly elections.

Incumbent Congress MLA Durga Bhumij and BJP candidate Rupesh Gowala will contest from the Doomdooma seat.

Rupesh Gowala, former general secretary of Assam Chah Mazdoor Sangha(ACMS) recently quit the Congress and joined the saffron party.

In the 2016 Assam Assembly polls, Bhumij had defeated BJP candidate Dilip Moran by a margin of 782 votes.

“We are expecting a straight contest between BJP and Congress in Doomdooma because there is no third force, which can contest against them. Both the candidates belong to the tea tribe community and have a base in Doomdooma,” said Manoj Ojha, a resident of Doomdooma

“Doomdooma is largely dominated by tea tribes and the community plays a crucial role during elections,” Ojha said.

From 1978 to 2006 Doomdooma constituency seat was dominated by Congress. Dileswar Tanti served Doomdooma constituency for the sixth time.

Also read: Assam elections: Ex-Asom Sahitya Sabha president Paramananda Rajbongshi joins BJP, to contest from Sipajhar

In 2011, Dilip Moran, a BJP candidate won the seat for the first time.

Although incumbent MLA Durga Bhumij is quite popular among the people in Doomdooma, whether he will regain the seat is unknown.

But everyone is expecting a tough fight between both candidates.

BJP candidate Rupesh Gowala said, “We are sure that BJP will form the government in Assam for the second time as it has done a lot of developmental work.”

“I am sure that I will definitely win the Doomdooma seat this time,” Gowala said.

“I have done many works for the people of Doomdooma. I will definitely win the seat this time,” Bhumij said.

The other candidates from Doomdooma are Lakeswar Moran, an independent candidate and Suresh Bhumij of Assam Jatiya Parishad.

Lakeswar Moran, former Tinsukia district president of BJP quit BJP after he had been denied a ticket. He had also been attacked during the CAA protest in Tinsukia.

Avik Chakraborty

Avik Chakraborty is Northeast Now Correspondent in Dibrugarh. He can be reached at: babs8oct@gmail.com