Raijor Dal, a newly-floated political party, led by RTI activist and farmers’ leader Akhil Gogoi, on Saturday released its first list of candidates for the ensuing Assam Assembly elections 2021.

The list of 17 candidates was announced by Rajir Dal executive president Bhasco De Saikia during a press conference.

Who will fight from which Assembly constituency?

Party president Akhil Gogoi will fight from Sivasagar Assembly while Rubul Das will contest from Raha constituency, which is reserved for the scheduled caste.

Jitul Deka will fight for the Kamalpur constituency seat.

Hareswar Barman is the party candidate for Rangia while Dilowar Begum Choudhury has won the party ticket for Jamunamukh seat.

The other candidates and constituencies from where they will contest the ensuing Assembly election are Phani Tayeng – Jonai, Dibanjyoti Phukan – Chabua, Kabindra Chetia Phukan – Teok, Sahadul Islam Chaudhury – North Karimganj and Jiban Barua – Bokakhat.

Besides, Lohit Gogoi will fight from Mahmora, Anup Saikia will contest from Bihpuria, Mohini Mohan Ligira has won party ticket for Moran seat, Alak Nath will fight from Tezpur, Umar Ali won ticket for Dalgaon seat, Nazrul Islam will contest from Rupahihat and Mehbob Muktab is the Raijor Dal candidate for Dhing seat.

Raijor Dal gears up to prevent the BJP from coming to power again.

In the Assam Assembly elections, Raijor Dal will field only 18 candidates.

In the first phase, in the total of 47 constituencies, Raijor Dal will field only 12 candidates and in the second phase, it will field only 6 candidates.

Bhasco De Saikia said in all these seats, their candidates would come out victorious.

On Friday, Asom Jatiya Parishad (AJP), which has formed a pre-poll alliance with Raijor Dal, released a separate list of candidates through a press conference.

In Rangapara, Dhing and Bihpuria, both the parties have announced their respective candidates.

Kalpajyoti Saikia

Kalpajyoti Saikia is Senior Reporter of Northeast Now. He can be reached at: kalpasaikia649@gmail.com