Raijor Dal chief Akhil Gogoi will contest in Assam Assembly elections from Sivasagar seat on LPG cylinder symbol.

The election commission has approved LPG cylinder as the symbol for Akhil Gogoi to contest from Sivasagar in the Assam Assembly elections.

Krishak Mukti Sangram Samiti (KMSS) General Secretary Dhairya Konwan collected the election symbol of Akhil Gogoi on behalf of Raijor Dal from the office of the Returning Officer in Sivasagar.

Also read: Assam Assembly elections: Congress’ Barhampur candidate Suresh Borah files nomination

Notably, Raijor Dal had failed to register with the election commission as a political party.

As such all the Raijor Dal candidates will be contesting the upcoming Assam Assembly elections as independent candidates.

Also read: Assam Assembly elections: Raijor Dal president Akhil Gogoi not to contest from Mariani seat

Earlier, Akhil Gogoi had withdrawn his nomination from Mariani, the second seat he was slated to contest.

Raijor Dal working president Bhasco De Saikia said the decision to withdraw Gogoi’s nomination from Mariani was taken primarily to ensure defeat of the BJP from the constituency.

“Though Akhil Gogoi would have won Mariani very easily as it is his home constituency, we took this decision only to help form an anti-BJP Government in Assam. Our this step has now ensured that BJP will be defeated in Mariani,” Bhasco De Saikia said.

Avatar photo


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: contact@nenow.in