Raijor Dal, a newly-floated political party, led by RTI activist and farmers’ leader Akhil Gogoi, has released its third list of candidates for the ensuing Assam Assembly elections 2021.

The third list of Raijor Dal, backed by Krishak Mukti Sangram Samiti (KMSS), includes 8 candidates.

The 8 candidates will contest for different Assembly seats in three different phases of the Assam Assembly elections.

According to the list, 6 candidates, who have been given party ticket for contesting in the third phase, are Divas Phukan, who will fight for Guwahati East seat; Russel Hussain, who will contest for Barkhetri seat; Ashraful Islam, who will contest for Jania seat.

Kamal Kumar Medhi, the former KMSS leader, who joined the Congress and quit the party to join Raijor Dal, will contest from Bhabanipur seat.

Raijor Dal

After joining the Raijor Dal, Medhi had announced that if the party allows he would love to fight from Jalukbari constituency, which is represented by BJP leader and powerful minister Himanta Biswa Sarma.

For the third phase, Aminul Haque has been given Raijor Dal’s ticket to contest in Goalpara East constituency and Sujan Das will fight from Chapaguri Assembly constituency.

For the first phase, Dibyajit Dutta has been given party ticket to contest from Lahowal constituency and Prabin Das got ticket to contest from Dergaon constituency.

For the second phase, Pankaj Asomiya’s name has been announced as the Raijor Dal ticket for Kalaigaon seat.

In the third list, signed by Raijor Dal’s executive presidents Bhasco De Saikia, Kabindra Chetia Phukan and Jitul Deka, the candidature of Chabua constituency has been changed keeping in view of the changing political situation.

Now, instead of Dipanjyoti Phukan, as announced earlier, Bhaben Barua will fight from Chabua Assembly constituency.


Northeast Now is a multi-app based hyper-regional bilingual news portal. Mail us at: contact@nenow.in